Huazhong Agricultural University (HAU) has a long history of over one hundred years. Its predecessor, Huazhong Agricultural College (HAC), termed Hubei Agricultural College in 1940, was derived from Hubei Farming School (HFS) established in 1898 by Mr. Zhang Zhidong, Governor-General of Hu-Guang region. In 1952 when China 's high institutions were restructured HAC was founded, merging Agricultural College of Wuhan University with Hubei Agricultural College , Agricultural College of Henan University, Agricultural College of Nanchang University, Agricultural College of Guangxi University, Agricultural College of Zhongshan University and some departments of Hunan Agricultural College . HAC had its name changed to HAU in 1985.
HAU boasts a highly qualified teaching contingent of 1200 teachers, of which 205 are full professors, 333 associate professors. Thus, a contingent of fine quality teachers has been shaped representing all the necessary subjects. Moreover, embodied in the teachers' rank are academicians, one from the Chinese Academy of Sciences,three from the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 5 “Scholars of Yangtze River”, 5 members of the Academic Degree Commission of the State Council, 116 doctorate advisors, 60 young and middle-aged state-level, province-level or ministry-level experts with remarkable contributions.
Ranking: 702rd in the world (2020 USNews)